Well I think its pretty safe to say that I still have a headache and my head is still about to explode with all the information I learned today. Who knew that a kindergartener would know how to work an iPad, let alone own their own!! That is soooo crazy to me and I can not wrap my head around it. How about the fact that I was talking about having kids come up to the smart board and write out problems and Dr. Parker says "ohh no they all have their own iPads they can just write on them and click a button and have their work show up on the screen for everyone to see." Oh okay well theres that. I don't even know how to do that so it blows my mind that a 6 year old knows how to. Or how about that some middle schoolers aren't even going to school anymore, they are just doing all online work and online chats with their teachers. Now professors are having video chats instead of having actual meetings. PE can now be taken online??? Can it possibly get any worse?? CRAZY CRAZY CRAZY!!!!
Now to be realistic... I do understand why we are switching over to technology somewhat. I understand that our technology is updated and we are preparing our students for their future. However I very strongly disagree with how much it is being used and how it is taking over person to person interaction. If people are sitting behind computer screens and doing all work online, they are not going to know how to communicate with people or have people skills for when they need them for jobs and their future. Children are not going to be able to form the kind of relationships that we have got to form with people if they are just sitting home doing their work. School was so fun, it was a time to see your friends everyday, hang out and have fun. I have 5 girl friends that I have had since 6th grade and we are all still best friends and do everything together. If children are sitting home looking at a computer screen how are they going to form these kind of relationships? I may be very old school with my whole pen and paper situation, but I do not agree with not having students actually come to the classroom.
I can get used to students having iPads in class and being more technology orientated but I don't think I will ever agree with the fact that kids in middle school don't actually have to go to school. After high school then it is your choice if you want to go to college, not go to college, or take online courses, but I believe anytime before that students should get the experience of actually going to class.
No comments:
Post a Comment